The twenty-first book in the OT. One of the more mysterious books of the Bible, Ecclesiastes presents the advice of someone known only as Qohelet (the “Preacher” or “Teacher”). The content of this advice concerns both the pursuit of wisdom (the path of patience and restraint) and the avoidance of folly (hedonism and reckless abandon).

Outline of Contents


I. Prologue (Eccl 1:1-11)

A. Theme (Eccl 1:1-3)

B. Cycle of life (Eccl 1:4-11)

II. Life experiment (Eccl 1:12-2:26)

III. A time for everything (Eccl 3:1-9)

IV. Disappointments of life (Eccl 3:10-4:16)

V. Counsels of wisdom (Eccl 5:1-12:8)

VI. Epilogue (Eccl 12:9-14)