A precious stone of a sea-green color. Emerald and aquamarine are two types of beryl. It was one of the twelve stones on the high priest’s breastplate (Exod 28:20), one of the jewels worn by the king of Tyre (Ezek 28:13), and the eighth foundation of the wall of the heavenly Jerusalem (Rev 21:20).

Exod 28:20

20and the fourth row a beryl, an onyx, and a jasper; they shall be set in gold filigree.

Ezek 28:13

13You were in Eden, the garden of God;
every precious stone was your covering,
carnelian, chrysolite, and moonstone,
beryl, onyx, and jasper,
sapphire, turquois ... View more

Rev 21:20

20the fifth onyx, the sixth carnelian, the seventh chrysolite, the eighth beryl, the ninth topaz, the tenth chrysoprase, the eleventh jacinth, the twelfth ameth ... View more

 NEH Logo
Bible Odyssey has been made possible in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities: Exploring the human endeavor
Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website, do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.